top of page

How to Buy A Marriage License in Duval County, Florida

Updated: Jul 5, 2023

*For Duval County Marriage Records, please visit: Duval County Clerk of Court Website

Getting married in Jacksonville Florida is EASY, EASY, EASY. Just follow these three easy steps and you will be ready to get married right away.

But first, save $25 off your license by booking your ceremony or purchasing the premarital counseling course directly. In the state of Florida, premarital counseling is required to buy a marriage license, or you will get penalized at the marriage license office. Without it you will pay an extra $25 fee, be given a 3-day waiting penalty and you’ll have to sign a form, I call the naughty form, stating in writing you did not complete premarital counseling, which is embarrassing.

Fortunately, you can download a free and easy to use course by booking your ceremony or purchasing the premarital counseling course. The program is The 52 Most Important Questions To Ask Before You Get Married. Just click on the link after your purchase. The course and certificate of completion will automatically download. Simply print it off, talk through the questions, put your name and date on the form and bring it with you to the marriage license office. It will save you $25, waive the waiting penalty and you will look smart and prepared.

To get your marriage license follow these 3 easy steps.

1) Go to room 2403 at the Duval County courthouse. This is the marriage license office and the clerk’s who work in there are the nicest ladies in the world. You will be in and out in about 30 minutes usually, an hour if you hit a rush and must wait. But they have four clerk’s and it’s usually straight in. The Courthouse is in downtown Jacksonville at 501 West Adams St Jacksonville, Florida 32202. There’s plenty of parking available either on the street or in the parking garage. Street level parking is only 50 cents an hour. The parking garage is $4 an hour, $10 all day.

2) Bring with you these documents. To buy the license you will both need to be present and you will need to provide to the clerk your certificate of completion of premarital counseling, your state issued ID’s (out-of-state and passports acceptable), your Social Security number (card not required), and the date of your last divorce decree, if applicable.

3) Pay the fee. The cost of a marriage license is $86 without the counseling certificate but for you it will only be $61 when you get your free premarital course by booking your ceremony or purchasing the premarital counseling course directly.

After you buy your marriage license you will need someone to solemnize your wedding. Many courthouses, including Duval county, DO NOT PERFORM wedding ceremonies.

But that’s ok. There is a Walk-in Wedding Chapel conveniently located at 9119 Merrill Road, Ste 16 Jacksonville, FL 32225. It is very romantic and set up for your ceremony.

Duval county marriage license

There is a wonderful retired navy chaplain, Chaplain Scott, who performs weddings Friday and Saturday from 11 AM to 6 PM, on Sunday from 1 PM to 5 PM, and Monday from 11 AM to 5 PM. The ceremony includes a vows and ring exchange, God-blessing, pronouncement of marriage. You can keep your special moment forever with the HD photos included in your wedding package. You will be able to share your special moment with all your friends and family and post them on social media.

In conclusion, getting married in Jacksonville, Florida has never been easier. Book your ceremony and get your free course or purchase the premarital counseling course. Save some time and money, get your license, and get happily married today. You will have a long and happy life together.

173 views2 comments


Chaplain Scott
Chaplain Scott
Jan 28, 2020

It is open. The phone is good. I'm using it now to write this. Can you please call again? 904904-309-0606.



Is the Chapel still open? I have tried the number listed on the website, but it says that it is a non-working number.

bottom of page